Carey Lewis Devotions
Tuesday, July 28th, 2020
Judgment: Occultism*
And when they say to you, 'Seek those who are mediums and wizards, who whisper and mutter,' should not a people seek their God? Should they seek the dead on behalf of the living?
Isaiah 8:18 (NKJV)
And the person who turns to mediums and familiar spirits, to prostitute himself with them, I will set My Face against that person and cut him off from his people.
Leviticus 20:6 (NKJV)
By your sorcery all the nations were deceived.
Revelation 18:23 (NKJV)
Normally, I advise against judgment-- particularly not judging the world. But occultism is a different thing. The study and practice of sorcery by witches, mediums and evil priests was the final strike in King Saul's downfall.

Following his wrong-minded leadership, countless kings and kin were tripped by magic.*

They preferred soft promises to hard truth,
Self-aggrandizement to self-denial,
Pursuing pleasure to helping others,
Good-looking show-offs to humble heroes,
Visible idols to the unseen God,
Familiar spirits to God's Own Spirit,
Fictional fortunes to God's endowment,
And twisted thoughts about heaven and hell.

Actors, models and talent for Christ: Since magic is big in Hollywood and you'll be hard-pressed to avoid it, consider a few points for prayer:

1. If Jesus stands at the door and knocks, the devil will knock on your door, too. Playing with magic gives him entry.**

2. Since supernatural films abound, what if you're offered a tempting role? Pray and make sure that the good guys win.

3. If undead heroes are glamorized, if lines of good versus evil blur, ask God if the part is right for you.

4. Don't condemn outsider involvement in supernatural concoctions. Instead, exude quiet confidence.

When men ask about your Source of peace, tell them It's the invisible God-- and you'd love to share His power Book.

## Judgment: Occultism (Part 12)

* Previous Carey Lewis Devotions on witchcraft and the occult:

* The Occult (5-part series): http://careylewisdevotions.com/the-occult-part-1-parental-discretion-advised-on-links-below

* Fortune Tellers: http://careylewisdevotions.com.org/fortune-tellers

* Tough Qs For Christian Performers, The Occult: http://careylewisdevotions.com/tough-questions-for-christian-performers-part-15-the-occult

* Monster High (2-part series): http://careylewisdevotions.com/monster-high-part-1

* Acting School, Dark Shadows: http://careylewisdevotions.com/acting-school-part-16-parental-discretion-advised-dark-shadows

* Christian Pitfalls, Sorcery: http://careylewisdevotions.com/christian-pitfalls-part-21-sorcery

* Deliverance, The Magic Business: http://careylewisdevotions.com/deliverance-part-41-the-magic-business

** If you're concerned that (in your past) you've had occult involvement, I recommend reading Derek Prince's book, They Shall Expel Demons: https://www.amazon.com/They-Shall-Expel-Demons-Invisible/dp/0800792602

NOTE: This is a republished edit of a 2016 devotion series, 'Judgment.' You may see notes to 'Actors, Models & Talent for Christ.' If you think you're not in show business, think again. Every disciple in every field performs for Christ. Shakespeare said, 'All the world's a stage and all its men and women merely players.' Mostly true. But you're not 'merely players.' You are messengers and ambassadors for the King of kings.

P.S. To read the other devotions in this series, please see the Judgment 2020 series.


back one monthback one dayshow todayforward one dayforward one month


 


"I labored, yet not I. By the grace of God, I am what I am, and do what I do' (paraphrase of 1 Corinthians 15:10). I love God's Word. As a late-in-life committed Christian with no Bible training prior to age 51, some people wonder how I'm qualified to write devotions. I wonder that, too. But God loves children and fools for Him. I am both. Ghost Writer? God.

Carey Lewis


Want to subscribe to these emails? click here

Want to see full list of devotions? click here


[Valid RSS]